I’ve written previously about general thoughts on goggles in a  previous post.

Over the course of the last 2 years, I’ve had the opportunity to try quite a few different types of goggles. Everyone’s different, and this is only my opinion, but I recently tried out a new pair of Zoggs Predatorflex, and thought I might like to share my thoughts in case they are helpful to anyone out there.

These goggle have been gaining popularity in my training group over the last couple of months, so last time I was putting in a kit order I added a pair of these to my basket. I’ve been using them for a couple of weeks now and I can see why they’re popular.

Here’s a list of the pros…..

  •  These are a good fit for women’s faces – a little narrower.
  • They keep a good seal even with sunscreen on my face
  • These have polarised lenses and I love that for ocean swimming. You can see clearly even in overcast or high-glare conditions.
  • The lenses are quite big and give a good range of visibility
  • These are very comfortable and stay on well (so far) even in bigger surf.
  • They seem fairly resilient. I have a different pair of polarised goggles and they were brilliant, but they scratched and wore badly fairly quickly.

And of course the cons…….

  • These goggles come with a cloth pouch instead of a plastic case. I’ve put them in a different one, because nothing lasts long in the bottom of my swim bag without decent protection. Sand is amazingly abrasive.
  • The lenses are pretty dark. I won’t wear them for pool sessions because I can’t see. Not a bad thing overall as they are great in bright sunshine, but it means I wouldn’t pick these if you want to have only one type of goggles for all occasions.
  • The larger lenses are good for visibility but that makes them not very streamlined. That’s not really a problem for me, but if you were super-competitive this might affect your race times.

On the whole, I’m really happy with them for me. I only wear them for ocean training, not in the pool, but they do a pretty great job and they look really fancy! You can see me wearing them in the photo in this post.

In case you’re wondering, this is not a paid endorsement, just my opinion. I imagine I’m about as far from commanding paid sponsorships as you can get…short of not swimming at all!

