I read this interesting article on the differential in time between wetsuit and non-westuits in ocean swim races. Apparently it’s a pretty complicated topic!

I hadn’t given it a whole lot of thought before reading the article but ti certainly has me thinking now. I’ve never worn a wetsuit in a race. I certainly wear one to train during winter and I’ve written before about the decision of whether or not to wear one when training, but I tend to compete in summer in a climate where it’s warm enough that a wetsuit would actually have me overheating.

for the 2012-13 season, though, I have in my head a goal swim that’s later in the year and longer than swims I’ve done previously. That race has both wetsuit and non-wetsuit divisions. It’s literally months and months away and so much work and preparation will need to go into getting ready. Here’s another decision to add to the list!

