I was almost a little hesitant about Wednesday training this week. After going out a little hard on Tuesday night, I was just a touch tired and sore in the arms.

Then there was one of those good news/bad news situations.

Good news! No pacing tonight!

Bad News. Tumble turns.

In ocean swimming we rarely need to tumble turn. Most of us avoid it like the plague. I personally have an unnatural aversion to them. I once put my neck out doing one incorrectly and have been a bit traumatised ever since.

So I was definitely outside my comfort zone. Well outside.

So I decided to do the only sensible thing under the circumstances: Sulk a bit, then pull on my big-girl pants, suck it up and get on with it!

It was actually a pretty good session. Nobody’s ever really taught me how to do a proper tumble turn. Coach Zoe was running the session and I knew from seeing her swim in the MS Megaswim team, that she could do a killer, effortless-looking tumble turn, so that gave me a bit of confidence that I might get the hang of it. She also explained some of the ways that learning to tumble turn could help in the ocean (not freaking out if tumbled by a wave, timing)

Zoe, as expected, was great. She broke down the turn into different aspects and had us lined up against the side of the pool, and somersaulting down the lanes.

It must have looked ridiculous!!!! To be fair, though, we wear goggles and caps so we’re pretty much already on the ridiculous-looking side of life.

In the end, I managed one or two successful tumble turns.

Goes to show, that if you put your mind to something and have a good teacher and you never know what might be possible.

I was tossing up whether to continue using them in my training, when this conversation happened…

Coach Zoe: So I’m OK if you don’t want to use these every turn, but I would encourge you to tumble turn at least a couple of times per session.

Jacki: Will they make our time trial times quicker?

Coach Zoe: Yes, absolutely. Up to 5 seconds per 100m.

Jacki: Sold!

