Saturday morning was sunny and beautiful. I was packing up my swim bag and getting ready when I looked at my wetsuit. It’s so bulky and hard to get on and off and I really enjoyed swimming without it last week. A quick check of a couple of weather apps confirmed that there wouldn’t be much in the way of waves, and the water temperature wasn’t too crazy-cold.

Snap decision…left the wetsuit out of the bag.

I headed down and met up with Fiona and Ronene. We were talking about the weather and how nice it was on the way. The conversation moved on to how lucky we’ve really been this inter, with hardly any really cold, rainy horrible days.

And as we headed closer to the beach, we started noticing some dark and ominous looking clouds forming off the coast.

We had jinxed ourselves! By the time we got to the beach it was dark and overcast and starting to rain. And I had foolishly and prematurely decided not to bring my wetsuit! The waves, of course, had also picked up with the wind.

Ah well, there was nothing for it but to forge ahead and swim anyway,. It was a chilly entry, but really not too bad. We did some squares out, across and back to the beach, but with a bit of a twist where we had to watch for coach Zoe to turn, and turn at whatever point we were at (ie faster swimmers further out, slower ones not so much). Sometimes she was at the back of the pack, and sometimes out deeper. With the bigger swell it was hard work and at least once I had to actually stop swimming and look around…only to find her nowhere near where I thought she was!

This is actually a great activity for ocean swimmers. In a race swimming in a straight line towards a particular point, regardless of conditions, can mean huge gains, so this is a fun but important exercise.

For some of the circuits (square circuits…I hope this makes sense!) we caught the North Bondi rip out, and man that thing was FLYING!!! It also had a rare visitor in the shallows….a well camouflaged little wobbegong shark, who I caught a glimpse of (only as he moved) and who was no doubt startled and perplexed by the sudden influx of legs and splashes above him!

By the end of the session I was pretty stuffed. Those sets in the bigger conditions were definitely in the cardio vascular zone!

And then, wouldn’t you know it, after a quick shower and lining up for coffee…the rain stopped and the clouds cleared and it was a beautiful day again!

