Wednesday training this week was a far more successful outing than Tuesday’s failed attempt at cheesecake redemption!

Coach Kingy was back on deck and so was the pacing training at the new and improved (read: harder) time.

Also returning was an old favourite of Coach Kingy…pyramids! These are a very special form of torture, particularly if you’re doing pacing, and they work like this:

  • 100m. Rest 15 secs
  • 200m. Rest 15 secs
  • 300m. Rest 15 secs
  • 400m. Rest 15 secs
  • 300m. Rest 15 secs
  • 200m. Rest 15 secs
  • 100m. Rest 15 secs

All at a consistent pace. Obviously this set can be dialled up and down depending on how much time you have and how fast the swimmers are and if you’re doing drills as well.

It’s a good one at really learning to maintain that pace we’ve been working on over longer and varying distances. In an ocean swim, you don’t have  that neat end of each pool to tell you when you hit 100m, so it’s good to know what that pace feels like over different distances. It’s also a good one for developing stamina and endurance and I know my arms were feeling it by the end!

Allison was back from what sounded like a brilliant swim tour in Fiji and it seems we’ve hit a point where we’re swimming almost exactly the same pace, so we stuck together and switched up leading a bit (I’d like to point out that I bravely took the 400m leg!). I do love having someone to pace off, both at training and in races, so it was nice to find and stick with a buddy and I was pretty happy with the pace we maintained.

On another note…bet you’re wondering if I faced my fears and tumble turned after last week’s master class. Well, good news…I did! I decided to make myself do it at the deep end turns only, to start with. I kept it up most of the way, although I found as I got tired towards the end of the set I started to go a bit wonky and became a bit of a danger to myself and other swimmers. Oops! At that point I eased up a bit, but will keep at it until I can get in more per set, faster and better.

