As the winter swim season draws to a close, I’ve been reflecting on one of the most common things I hear when someone discovers I swim in the ocean every weekend, even in winter.

“Winter swimming? Are you insane?”

Funnily enough, I’m at a point where I understand their reaction about as much as they understand my swimming. I’m a total convert to winter swimming, and have grown to love its charms.

Aside from the question about getting into the ocean, I recently came across an article about Why you should keep on swimming through the winter. This was mainly about pool swimming, but had some good points that apply to all swimmers.

As for me, I have quite a long list of reasons why I do it, and why I’ve grown to love it. so here goes….

  • Less tourists at the beach (and therefore less parking issues) so less crowd-dodging in the water.
  • It’s really not that cold. Not where I live and train. so far the water temperature hasn’t dropped below 17C. There’s actually a lag in water temperature to air temperature, so funnily enough the really cold water tends to be around November when people start thinking about getting into the ocean. And if the water temperature really bothers you. Ummm…heard of wetsuits? No rules against ’em!
  • The water clarity is better. No idea why, but it is totally true.
  • Wildlife. I think it’s a combination of the cooler water and less swimmers around, but there’s more fish, and it’s only during winter swims that I’ve swum with dolphins and whales (and even a wolverine!).
  • Body Surfing. A good enough reason all on its own.
  • A surprising number of winter swim days are actually pretty nice.  A quick review of the icebreaker notes shows there was one horrid day, one overcast, and one where it came in started sunny, rained, and then went sunny again. Not too bad all things considered.
  • There’s really no better start to the weekend. Salt and surf and sand, enough of a workout to justify a few wines on Saturday night, followed by coffee and good company!
  • It’s a well-kept secret, known only to a select few, that we actually have a ball out there. Even when the weather is sub-optimal. There’s this whole perception out there amongst the general populace that it’s difficult and cold and you have to give up your Friday night plans…when really, it’s amazingly fun.
  • It’s great for your summer race form. Keeping up training over the winter really gets you trained up for bigger surf, rougher conditions and cooler water. you can work on strength and endurance, and you’re not starting from scratch fitness-wise every year.

I know. I’ve given away a few secrets here. So maybe we’ll see you in the water next winter….

