I don’t know quite how it happened, but I ended up buying another underwater camera. Oops!

It was a Speedo Aquashot, and very cheap as far as underwater cameras go – I got it online on special for $149…most other underwater cameras tend to sit at around double that. Plus it had a few features that really made me think there might be something to it. The selling points for me were:

  • It floats! Not good for diving, but it was a bit of a revelation when you think about a camera for swimming and snorkelling.
  • The large, raised external buttons designed to be usable by people with cold, waterlogged fingers.
  • It is a rounded and rubberised and just looked somehow easier to operate in the water. No dials or needing to see small symbols.

So the camera arrived and I tried it out last Saturday at training, and as you can clearly see from the photos below, it takes RUBBISH photos. Bear in mind these were taken on a bright and sunny day, in full light, not in the dead of night.

Too dark part 1
Too dark part 1
Best of a bad bunch

Best of a bad bunch

A dark and stormy day

A dark and stormy day

I managed to do a little post-processing on a few of them to make them almost usable, but by the time I managed to get enough done to them to see what was going on they generally turned out super-grainy. Not good enough at all!I’m not entirely sure what the deal was with this camera. For a start, the buttons were pretty big and simplified for ease of use in the water but this meant it was ridiculously difficult to work out what any of them did or how (most of them had 3 different symbols).

I’ll have another go at some point just to check it wasn’t user error and that I didn’t have some crazy setting on, but I think this one may get chalked up to (a bad) experience.

Please don’t be like me, and DO NOT BUY THIS CAMERA!!!!

