I doubled up on Saturday training again this week, and it was a touch easier. I’ve done this twice now, and I’m starting to realise that the double-up is a bit of a different proposition to the training I’ve been doing so far. To clarify my thinking, I made a list of lessons I’ve learnt so far.

  1. Protein. I need to have some sort of high protein snack in between sessions for fuel. I’m researching and thinking on this topic and write more as I figure it out.
  2. Hydration. I need to focus more on hydrating between sessions. It’s a long time to be out in salt water and sun (ha!) if I’m not hydrated well enough.
  3. Rinsing off. It was a hard lesson to learn…figuring that I was basically going straight back in the water there wasn’t much point queueing for a shower. Except we started session 2 with a beach run. Let’s just say one word and leave it at that: Chafing.
  4. Afternoon naps. Not in between sessions, but afterwards. Now things are kind of in full swing, i find I’m getting up even earlier on Saturdays and Sundays than I do during the week for work. That means literally no sleep-ins. If I want to catch a few extra zzzs, a disco nap is my friend.
  5. Sunscreen reapplication. Another Lesson I really need to get better at remembering. I’m religious about sunscreen, I wear it every day, year round, whether I’m out swimming or heading into the office. Problem is, most sunscreens really don’t cope too well with two hour-long sessions of swimming in the ocean with the water and the salt and the sand. Reapplication is the only answer. And as the Australian sun gets stronger and stronger throughout the summer, invisible zinc is the only thing I’ve found that can cut it.
  6. Staying warm between sessions. I’m still figuring this out. I don’t want to have to get back into the wetsuit at this point…It’s too much of a pain to get on and off, I feel bad wearing it when all the Can Too crew are going in news, and I get too hot. If I tried to get showered and changed and dressed, I’d have to turn around straight away and change back into swim gear again so that’s not going to work. I only have finite room to take gear on the motorbike, so I’m limited about what extra kit I can pack. I think this will get easier as the days warm up, but for now, I’m thinking a beanie might be part of the solution. And maybe a thermos.

The session itself was a cracker. We did a point to point…North to south and back again. That’s one of my favourite things to do at Bondi. It’s very satisfying to swim from one end to the other, and I remember it being one of my proudest moments the first time I did it.

About half way across the sun finally made an appearance for the first time in over a week. We could finally see that the water was clear and the light bounced along on the shifting sands on the bottom to a lovely effect. It lifted the mood immediately.

I was feeling great…two weeks into the ramped up training plan and I’m feeling faster and stronger and capable and confident. We were a small group…Jane who is fast, Jimmy and Claire who are medium, and two others who did a shorter course as one is pregnant and the other new. I’ve pretty much been a down-the-back swimmer since I started 2 years ago…but today I graduated tot he medium group and kept up the whole way! Small victories make me happy!

Point to Point

Point to Point

 

 

