I read this interesting article on the Daily News of Open Water Swimming site, questioning whether open water swimmers are genetic mutations, and I thought it was an interesting question.

I’ve been called many things when it comes to my swimming. “Crazy” comes up a lot, funnily enough, especially in winter! Genetic mutation, though? Sounds all a bit science fiction, right? But really, when I read the article, it kind of made some sense to me. We all know, I. Ourselves, that there are certain things we tend to be naturally good at, and certain things we struggle with no matter how much time and effort we put into it.

The idea that some of us are built a bit differently to others. That our muscles might be more or less suited to different types of activities? That actually starts to ring true for me.

So does this mean I can be excused from the beach running sets because of my genetic mutation?

