Whew! Apparently it’s not all just about training harder….

I found this great article on a few simple principles for increasing speed and comfort in the water.

It’s Not About Swimming Harder

It’s a very quick one-pager set out with 8 different points. Definitely worth the couple of minutes it takes to read.

I particularly found the point on strength training interesting as it has come up in a lot of my recent reading. Not only is strength training apparently a good idea for swimming, but it ‘s invaluable for “burning more calories, losing fat and seeing more tone and definition” according to this different but related article I read this morning (I think the universe is trying to tell me something).

Hmmm….might have to start doing some strength exercises at home in the lounge room of an evening. Do you think carrying cases of wine and restocking the rack for Christmas counts?

