I’ve written here already about my crimes against fashion. Unfortunately, on top of that I have some pretty major bad hair issues. Swimming is a bit of a problem for hair to start with. Chlorine is the worst for hair, but if you add in salt, sand, lot of sun, sunscreen, swimming caps, and throw in a bit of dodgy motorbike-helmet-hair for good measure then it’s pretty much a recipe for disaster.

I have a few things that I do, however, to try to keep things from getting completely out of hand. (Like before my last haircut when I was at the movies seeing Argo with my significant other and realised I had the exact same colour and style hair as Ben Affleck. In a movie set in the 70s) Some of it might even be considered advice. If you see me on a good day you might even believe that it’s reasonable for me to be giving hair advice.

  1. I keep my hair pretty short. Total laziness and I realise it’s not for everyone, but it does help. It also means a lot less time in changerooms and washing my hair in pool/beach showers.
  2. Moroccan Oil/Argan Oil. I’m not endorsing any particular brand because I’ve used a couple now and they are all awesome. I came a bit late to this whole movement, but I’m a bit of a convert. My super dry, brittle, straw-like hair actually feels like hair again.
  3. Apparently you should rinse your hair in fresh water before you put on your cap to swim in chlorinated water. I totally don’t do this, but it’s what I’ve read. Feel free to weigh in in the comments.
  4. Disguise. Headbands, hats, beanies. I have a large collection of all of the above, and I’m not afraid to use them! Go back and check the archives if you like…if I’m not actually wearing a swimming cap, chances are I’m wearing some form of headwear.
  5. Embrace your inner brunette. I change my hair colour fairly frequently, and definitely notice that bleaching your hair dries it out to start with. If you’re adding the wear and tear of swimming on top of that, your hair will suffer. I’ve been sticking with brunette for a couple of months and thinks have definitely improved.
  6. Don’t take silly photos of yourself with the crazy hair. And certainly don’t publish them on the internet for posterity. That’s a terrible idea!

20121206-170537.jpg

