I know I said I’d stop with the whingeing, but seriously…what’s with the weather?

Friday all day was beautiful and it was hot and I was dying for a swim.

Then I left the office and the heavens literally opened and there was thunder and lightning and a deluge from above. I sheltered a little and debated what to do.

And the rain cleared again. I headed for the beach.

It was still damn hot…the rain hadn’t stuck around long enough to really cool anything down. The beach still looked great, and we headed down for a swim.

Oblivious, we had walked into quite a shock…the water temperature had dropped sharply and suddenly and it was bloody cold!!

Now, to be clear, I generally don’t have too much of an issue with the colder water. I prefer swimming without my wetsuit, whenever I can manage it, and I do find that once the shock of getting into the water passes it can be quite pleasant to swim in cooler water. That being said….a certain amount of mental preparation is necessary, and to find the water temperature had dropped several degrees was kind of shocking.

In addition, the storm was still visible (well) offshore, with the odd flash of lightning, and the light was downright weird! I had my camera, but found it struggling with the strange light conditions…have a look and you’ll see what I mean…

I particularly love this one of Bel S sharing a story about Friday drinks…completely oblivious to the surprisingly apt wineglass-shaped cloud behind her….

 

Friday drinks...reimagined....

Friday drinks…reimagined….

 

Fittingly, the temperature may have been a little challenging, but he waves were definitely not. They weren’t huge, but they were those great ones that you can catch by throwing yourself off the second sandbank….completely safe but very catchable and with just enough oomph to give you a decent ride right up to the sand. Excellent opportunities for party waves for as long as our frosty toes allowed!

(Excuse the photo quality…light was a little odd…but I’m sure you get the idea!)

