I have written (probably more than once) about my favourite goggles, the Zoggs Predatorflex polarised. I love them, and have converted many people to the joys of polarised lenses and a good fit.

You can imagine my excitement, then, when I discovered there was a new model of Zoggs Predatorflex…different colour option and everything.

Next time I did a wiggle order, a pair may have just happened to accidentally slipped into my shopping cart……

Zoggs black

I’ve had a chance to wear these a few times now and have raced in them once, so thought it might be time for a review.

 

Here’s a list of the pros…..

  • These have the polarised lenses I love. You can see so much more, particularly if you’re interested in checking out the local inhabitants below the surface. Plus they cut glare without sacrificing clarity.
  • The lenses are actually a bit darker than those on the older model of predatorflex. This is good for super-sunny bright conditions, and I feel like when I’ve worn them in those conditions they have helped my eyes not get sore.
  • The lenses are quite big and give a good range of visibility
  • Like the previous model, they seem fairly resilient. They don’t seem to scratch or wear too badly.

And of course the cons…….

  • These goggles come with a cloth pouch instead of a plastic case. I’ve put them in a different one, because nothing lasts long in the bottom of my swim bag without decent protection. Sand is amazingly abrasive.
  • The lenses being dark, they wouldn’t be much good for pool sessions, or in really low light.
  • For some reason, this model replaces the ratchet strap with a double elastic string around a plastic closure. I cannot fathom why as I hate that and think it’s a big step backwards. I like to be able to tighten and loosen the straps for different conditions. In particular this worked badly for me at the Freshwater race where they came off my head (I would have tightened them up at the start of the race if it hadn’t been such a pain) and I had to finish with no goggles (they turned up later, thanks sea-gods!).
  • These seem a bit wider than the previous model. This might actually work well for the bigger blokes out there, but I found they were a touch wide for my face and this affected the sealing ability. I had a bit of a leakage problem when I wore them at Freshie. I can’t see myself racing in these again, so might give them to one of the guys I train with to test out.

So in summary – not a bad goggle (apart from the straps!), but probably not very likely to make their way into my shopping cart again. If I were a guy or had a wider face, the story might be different, though.

If you want my general thoughts on goggles, I’ve written about them in a  previous post.

In case you’re wondering, this is not a paid endorsement, just my opinion. I imagine I’m about as far from commanding paid sponsorships as you can get…short of not swimming at all!

