I’ve written a bit before about Zoggs. Firstly I reviewed my favourites the Zoggs Predatorflex polarised. Then recently a new model was released so I reviewed the slightly different black version.

Well, it seems that at the same time I bought the black model, I may have also accidentally bought the other new offering – a photochromatic or transition lens goggle.

Zoggs transitionsI wear transition lens glasses when riding my motorbike and am a huge fan of the versatility under different conditions, particularly when you’re in a situation where you can’t just take sunglasses on and off. So I was prepared to love these. I really hoped to love these because they’re also substantially more expensive than my usual goggles.

I’ve trained in them a few times now and raced in them at Queenscliff so thought these’s only one thing for it…it’s time for a review!

Here’s a list of the pros…..

  • These lenses are clear and the transition works pretty well. They are advertised as taking 2 mins to transition to new light levels. This is supposedly so you don’t get anything weird happening as you turn your head in and out of the water to breathe. I don’t know of any other company doing this type of thing, and I have to say it’s a great idea….especially for longer races where conditions may change and/or might be different at different legs of the course (ie facing into or away from the sun).
  • They do come in a very fancy and sturdy zippered hard case. It’s even big enough to fit a spare pair of other goggles inside! Plastic zipper so no rusting. All goggles should come with cases like this!
  • The lenses are quite big and give a good range of visibility
  • These fit nicely and have the ratchet straps that Zoggs never should have abandoned with their black model. Width is good again, like the originals.

And of course the cons…….

  • Not really many. I think the time it takes to transition could be a touch quicker. 2 minutes just felt a bit long as I came around a can and into full sunlight at Queenscliff. Just being picky here.
  • I know I can’t have everything, but can’t aI have goggles that are transitions lenses and polarised? I have certainly noticed you can’t see as clearly or as deep into the water.
  • The big problem with these, though, is the price point. At around $60 these are around 3 times the price of my regular goggles.

So in summary – these are great. Really great. Clever idea and executed very well. Buuuut….are they 3 times as good as my regular goggle? Well, I can’t really say they are. I love them, but I’m not sure that I love them enough to make them my regular goggle. If I was a millionaire or sponsored or something, I’d always keep a pair handy for those days when you don’t know which way the weather will go, but for now, honestly, I’ll probably stick with my old faithfuls.

If you want my general thoughts on goggles, I’ve written about them in a  previous post.

In case you’re wondering, this is not a paid endorsement, just my opinion. I imagine I’m about as far from commanding paid sponsorships as you can get…short of not swimming at all!

