One thing that I really love about ocean swimming, is that a lot of people get into it via charity events. This tends to mean that you get pretty great people, who are kind and selfless and generous with their time and their spirit involved.

This year, 4SEASons is putting in an appearance once again at the MS Megaswim…a 24 hour team relay at Sydney’s Olympic Park. A BIG appearance…4 teams totally 60 people!!!!

This is not just a fun event, but it is also a fundraising event to support sufferers of MS. I’ve been busily organising teams and scheduling and answering questions and communicating, so I was more than happy to leave organising a fundraising event to some of our other capable swimmers/fundraisers, and I’m happy to say they outdid themselves!

On Saturday afternoon, after training, we had the 4SEASons MegaBowl!!! lawn bowls afternoon. It was so much fun, having a BBQ, a bit of lawn bowls, some whale watching off the coast (the view from Clovelly Bowls club is million-dollar, btw), a cake stall and a massive raffle…and hanging out with all of us with our clothes on!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

What fun!

I brought along my Mum and my brother (also in town for my little sister’s engagement party) and we all had a cracker afternoon. My brother even took home the bowls trophy (and we’re not mentioning that most of the teams stopped playing when a bit of rain interrupted play!).

A hugely impressive sum of money has been raised so far…over $13k so far across all 60 of us, and I couldn’t be prouder.

The swim itself is in a couple of weeks, from noon on 22nd June to noon on Sunday 23rd. I’m sure there will be stories and photos galore so tune in after then. In the mean time..if you’d like to support our fundraising efforts, sponsorship is very welcome if you click on over to our team fundraising page….it’s such a great cause to support (and at the right end of the financial year, too).

