Goodness, things got quiet around here, didn’t they?

Sorry about that.

I had the best of intentions, really I did. I was going to totally make the best of a bad situation and find some way to make the whole broken-ankle thing a theme here and keep to regular programming. Seems actual real-life recovery from an injury like that is far more, well, exhausting than I had possibly imagined. Plus I may not quite have counted on the fact that I am in complete denial about the fact that I’m no longer 18 years old and bounce back from things with my super-human healing abilities. Seems it was bloody hard work. Still kind of is bloody hard work.

So what’s been happening with me? Well, here’s the cliff-notes version….

Injury-Stuff

  1. 10 days, crutches, no pressure (did you know crutches can hurt more than the injury they’re supporting?)
  2. 3 weeks-ish, crutches, orthopaedic boot – allowed to put the boot on the ground. Explored the work-from-home thing to the point where I absolutely understood the limitations of sitting in the same spot for far too many hours a day, and not seeing anywhere near enough other live people.
  3. A bit of a 3-week transition where I weaned off the crutches to just the boot. Starting with short distances on flat surfaces.
  4. Just when I got the hang of that, it was time to take the boot off. Yay!
  5. Except everything else goes to hell after 6-7 weeks of inactivity. My left calf is vastly smaller than the right one, I have almost no range of motion in the ankle, and less strength. I’m back to pathetic limping and develop a love/hate relationship with the boot.
  6. 3 days later (sadly, not my shortest love/hate relationship ever) – end up part of a research study on this type of injury. Start seeing a lot of my new best friend – my physio Kerri. She gives me some tough love and tells me I have to ditch the boot.
  7. They give me a tick-sheet to track how I go with the physio exercises. It totally taps into my motivators and I do everything I’m asked religiously for about 10 days. Results are stellar.
  8. The crutches, boot, limping, extended working from home, weight-gain from lack of activity, and general lack of symmetry in my life lead to a secondary-effect…and I throw my back out. Badly. Luckily, my Osteo is a genius.
  9. last week or so? Getting the dreaded limp down to a minimum, rebuilding wasted muscles and spending an inordinate amount of time pretending to write the alphabet with my foot.

So where am I now? If you didn’t know, you wouldn’t notice the slight limp. The muscles are getting there and I can put on a pair of pants without sitting down. Stairs are not the daunting obstacle they were, and I can see myself starting to do things without thinking about them again. I’m at about 90% mobility and strength, and it only hurts a little bit a little of the time.  All the experts agree I should get back to 100% of what I was, with no ill-effects, and it shouldn’t be too far off. Good news all-round, really.

As for swimming?

Well, I’m getting back to the swing of things around here, so I might save that so I have something to write about tomorrow! Sorry for the cliff-hanger!

